Camera Tip 1: Shoulder strap

I’m not professionally involved with photography so most things I’ve figured out the hard way, by trial and error. I’ll try to impart some of my ill-found learnings along the way. Here is a warm-up.

A rather basic tip for a really low cost upgrade to any SLR.

The shoulder straps with most SLRs are fairly basic advertising for the supplier. This can create a problem if you want to melt into the scene, when big NIKON (or whoever) logos in bright colours tend to stand out a bit. The straps are also not great if slung over one shoulder and have a tendancy to slip down.

So, for a few quid, a padded strap, complete with detachable ends can be a better bet. Better weight distribution, more grip, less attention grabbing and the flexibility to unclip and make into a hand strap.

~ by rashbre on Saturday, 16 August, 2008.

5 Responses to “Camera Tip 1: Shoulder strap”

  1. Great tip! I am taking the same route as you did into photography so any words of wisdom are greatly appreciated!

    I think it’s great that you have started this site. I have long admired your photos and your creative eye and am looking forward to seeing more! Going to add this site to my blog roll right now!

  2. Great idea! I’ve still got the strap shouting CANON that came with my camera… too lazy to change it! However, this strap looks (and dounds) great 🙂

  3. P.S. – That’s “Sounds” not dounds. Doh!

  4. I have one of these on Vlad (the ‘Blad) bought in response to friends and family worrying that I might drop the camera. It turned out to be a great buy. When the strap gets in the inevitable tangle, all you need to do is unclip, spin and reclip. And it makes a good support in low light.

  5. I got one of these straps. As you say, its easy to remove the padded bit and just use as a wrist strap. Which I find handy for urban stuff.

Leave a Reply

 
