Reasons for starting this blog

This picture is probably one of the reasons I started a separate photo blog. Another reason was that I’d seen other blogging folk whose work I respect on the internet promoting a separate photo category. A few to mention include Debra, bob-kat, Maximum Bob, Nikki-Ann, OOLOTH (Naomi), Peter Marshall and Carmi.

My original thoughts were to stay with flickr for my ‘public’ photography, but I think it misses something along the way. Don’t misunderstand me, I use and will continue to use and value flickr, but its not quite right for what I have in mind.

The visitors to pictures in flickr (like the one above) are handling volume, and the comments often include the passing on of ‘awards’ inviting the photographer to join a group and then comment on another 2,3,4 or 5 other photographs (click through to see the comments on this one as an example).

Most of these awards comprise words like ‘awesome’ and similar superlatives and don’t really give a chance to get insight. I suspect its because many of the groups have huge numbers of members and the likelihood of return visits to a particular contributor is quite low. 

I suggest that quite a few visitors are on a particular photo by chance, have 2 or 3 ‘awards’ to hand out and don’t want to offend anyone. Inevitably a simple thing to do is find a half decent shot, add the word ‘awesome’, award the prize and move on. This doesn’t help move the thoughts about the pictures forward very much.

I know I’ll continue to use flickr, but part of my cunning plan is to have a separate site with a smaller number of pictures and thoughts where I can then swap addresses with other like minded people and maybe get some interesting quality feedback.

We shall see.

~ by rashbre on Saturday, 16 August, 2008.

2 Responses to “Reasons for starting this blog”

  1. Awesome!

    Seriously though it’s a fantastic shot. The shoreline leads the eye into the picture and towards the boats on the left. The only thing that could make this picture any better than it already is would be if the water was a little more calm so the reflection of the buildings was clearer. That said, the riplles do add foreground interest 🙂

  2. I know what you mean about Flickr.

    I thik I commented on this photo over at your other blog. I love it… Cityscape and reflections 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
