Depth of Field

Photo20_18A
I started to muse about depth of field in the last post and I thought I’d continue. The little eBay camera has quite a nice lens with it, so when I found an expired reel of Kodak Gold 200, I though I’d take the camera for a spin. A few random artifacts around rashbre central created the subjects and I decided used the so called ‘standard 50mm lens’ to take a few deliberately blurry pictures.

The interesting thing is that this small SLR has the equivalent of a the latest generation Nikon or Canon professional sensor size (ie because its 35mm film) and so with a large aperture lens, the Depth of Field (ie how narrowly on can focus) gets quite interesting.
Photo26_24A
So today’s pictures are ‘straight from the camera’ (via film processing) and don’t have any Photoshopping, cropping or similar. I wanted to see how ‘thin’ the layer of focus could be to get some effects. The duck’s eye is supposed to be the focus, with a view to getting the one behind out of focus, for example. Available light with expired film also creates some interesting grain!

There’s various mathematical explanations about why a compact camera’s small sensor can’t do this, even when it says f2.8 on the camera so I sense that the eBay bargain will be getting some reasonable use alongside my other cameras. There’s a few more test shots here, all from the same reel of ten year old film
Photo02_0A

~ by rashbre on Friday, 12 September, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
